Dorrit Pealy

Dorrit Pealy, a longstanding and instrumental CHS founding board member, provided a lifetime of service to CHS until her death in 2001. As an active member of her community, Dorrit additionally managed political campaigns, chaired the Fircrest Foundation, and served on the Metro Council (forerunner to Metro King County Council).

An active political science professor at the University of Washington, mentoring and inspiring students, Dorrit was also well known throughout her community as a champion for children, families and social justice. The Dorrit Pealy Awards annually honor an individual and organization, who are providing their community with outstanding support.

Recipients of the 2018 Dorrit Pealy Awards:

Business or Organization- Mukilteo School District

Individual-James Waters

Past Recipients of the Dorrit Pealy Awards are:

Individual: Organization:
2018 James Waters Mukilteo School District
2017 Laurie Fields Richmond Beach Congregational Church
2016 Councilman Rod Dembowski Verdant Health Commission
2015 Vicky Carnahan The Lean Program and The Boeing Company
2014 Hannah Bachelder & Kim Karmil Edmonds School District
2013 Melody Platt Dale Turner Y
2012 Jasper Hill Whidbey Island Bank
2011 Carol Maurer N/A
2010 Betsy Geib The Vineyard
2009 Sandie Tracy Social Venture Partners, Seattle
2008 Council Member Bob Ferguson Home Depot, Bothell
2007 Rob Beem Kirlin Foundation
2006 Don & Gloria Swisher James Alan Salon
2005 A. Mark Vanderveen Northshore School District and Shoreline School District
2004 Pearl Noreen Anderson House
2003 Jan Stout City of Shoreline
2002 Rep. Ruth Kagi Davis Wright Tremaine